Digestive Biscuits- Wholewheat and oats

Food, memories, nostalgia…I say that a lot. I feel that a lot. So biscuits with chai, most of us like them. My most favourite biscuits ever are those that came out of a peepa aka tin when I was ten. We would visit our Naani’s (maternal grandmother) and she gave us kids a glass of milk and a bowlful of biscuits from her fabled peepa. I later learnt, she would send aata(whole wheat flour) , ghee (clarified butter) cardamom and sugar to the local baker and he would send back a big tin full of these crunchy and aromatic  ilaichi biscuits.
IMG_3041
I have been trying to find a perfect recipe to bake some of those peepe waale biscuit forever and tried quite a few but didn’t get ‘that naani waala’ taste! Then I found this recipe here at Steve’s Kitchen, made some adjustments and Man! Was I happy!

I carried two big boxes when I went to visit my hometown last week and Mom said mine were better than the peepe waale biscuit!! Joy!

This is what you need to make them
(This measure gives 10-12 bicuits  when cut with a 3 inch cookie cutter)

100 gms or (about a tbsp less than 1 cup) of aata /whole wheat flour
100 gms or  (2 tsp less than 1 cup) of oatmeal
80 gms home made butter at room temperature (you could use Amul or any other)
A pinch of salt (skip if using salted butter)
75 gms or 3/4 cup granulated  white or brown sugar ( powder it before use. Can use brown sugar or even desi shakkar to get a nice brown colour)
1 tsp cardamom/ilaichi, powdered fine
1 tbsp sesame seeds roasted and ground coarse (optional)
2 Tsp desiccated coconut (Optional)
2-3 Tbsp of milk at room temperature
Half tsp baking soda

Take regular cooking oats  and grind  them coarse in the grinder. It should look like this.
IMG_2076
Roast the sesame seeds and grind them coarse too.
In a large bowl mix together the flour, oatmeal, salt, powdered sugar, sesame, desiccated coconut, cardamom powder and baking soda. Mix well with fingers.
IMG_2078
Now work the butter into the mixture. The mixture looks like bread crumbs.
IMG_2083
Very gradually, one tablespoon at a time, add milk and bring the mixture together as a dough. It does not need to be kneaded too much. It should be reasonably firm.
Our biscuit dough is ready. Cling film it and refrigerate for an hour.
The dough can be rolled on a floured surface.
What I do is, lay the portion to be rolled on a plastic sheet and cover it with another. This makes it very easy to roll without any mess and the biscuits come off the plastic sheets easily.
IMG_2118
The dough will be a little crumbly. Keep sealing the tears in the edges and bringing them together as you roll.
Pre-heat the oven at 150C for ten minutes.
Take portions of the dough and roll out as thin or thick as you like- about 1/4th of an inch for regular biscuits or thinner if you want dainty and very crisp biscuits. Cut the biscuits with a cookie cutter into desired shapes.
I made some thin and dainty flower shaped ones and the others round and regular thickness.
IMG_2119

IMG_2120
Lay the biscuits on a well greased baking sheet and bake for about ten minutes till golden brown. Watch closely and remove them as soon as they get golden brown. They burn easily!
They will be very soft when you transfer them to a cooling rack so handle them very carefully. I use this flat spatula to transfer them to the cooling rack.
unnamed (1)
Let them cool and enjoy!
unnamed
Full of the goodness of wholewheat, oats and home made butter, these are a healthy treat and so filling! Two with tea and breakfast sorted 😀
They can be stored in an airtight box when they cool completely. They stay good easily for a fortnight.

IMG_2029

39 thoughts on “Digestive Biscuits- Wholewheat and oats

  1. Can we skip coconut if we don’t like it’s taste . Does the coconut has a mild taste it in d cookies .

    1. Hi Simran
      Coconut gives and added crunch. I’m not a huge fan of desiccated coconut myself, but it eo rally works in this recipe. Skip by all means if you dislike. The taste is mild. 😊

  2. Hi Garima…tried the biscuits…they were tasting nice with a nutty taste of sesame seeds. The biscuits were not crumbly but a little hard like mathri..i also added baking pdr., could that be the reason. Request your inputs

    1. Hi Sonal
      Thanks for dropping by. I only add baking soda. Not tried with baking powder. I’m thinking they might need about a tsp and a half of baking powder. Or increase the amount of butter a little . I work with these exact proportions and always get perfect biscuits .

    1. Just reduce the sugar to 25g and add an extra pinch of salt. Half a teaspoon of caraway seeds are nice in the savoury ones if you like the taste.

  3. Hi Garima,
    I tried making these biscuits last night.They taste awesome!! Just that when I rolled the dough it was quite crumbly in nature so I tried to make it as firm as possible and then put it in the refrigerator.Unfortunately I couldn’t finish making them last night as I had to put baby to bed and the dough was quite hard today morning and I had to break it piece by piece and make the cookies..They are quite crumbly in nature now is that the way they are suppose to be? Also can you please advise why my dough last night was so crumbly?Is it because of extra butter or milk? thank you so much for your input

    1. Hi
      I feel the butter may be a little less than required. That might have made them crumbly .
      If too tough to handle, you can add little milk very gradually. It remains quite okay in rhe fridge actually . The dough I mean.

  4. Hi garimaji 😊😊I love the way you describe and present your tecipes😋😋😚😚I have tried these biscuits today as my dough is still in freezer;)actually i have used ghee instead of butter as I dint had any😐What would the output be😁

  5. Garima ji,muahhhh (sorry for being so informal) 😁😁😁but it had to be like this after baking these biscuit beauties three times😋😋😋Thankyou so much for this!!tried with homemade ghee and butter both came out 👍🏻👍🏻will try with amul butter next..I Am waiting for the savory version plz update soon!!love reet 😊😊

    1. Ha ha ha
      Thanks Reet!
      Muaahs ❤️❤️
      I’m so glad you tried with variations and loved them all 😃😃
      Will try a batch in savoury and share the recipe soon 😊

      1. Another muahh😋😋coz I had tried your khoya recipe and with that the halwai recipe gulabjamuns to be precise they were like”makkhan ka Gola” hahaha but apni tareef khud nhi Karni chahiye😁😁you know my mil is the best at making gulabjamuns from market made khoya and she is an expert at it but yesterday when she tasted your beauties she said”Mujhe toh ye ache lage”👍🏻☺️☺️☺️☺️The only thing I want to ask you is after frying n dipping in chashni when I took out few of them were so soft that they scattered😟😟😟give me guidance !!when we reheat them to eat as hot ones taste awesome then too few of the skin came out,,thanks again love-reet

  6. Hi Garima ji,these are my favourite biscuits and the ones with a perfect recipe which has turned out perfect every time I made it😊Thankyou so much!!need your advice on if want to add the goodness of mix dry fruits and honey in this what measurements should be taken I will wait for your reply to make these soon😊

    1. Hi Reet
      You can add nuts in small bits and try replacing some sugar with honey. Although it will change the texture of the biscuits as honey will effect the texture. 🙂
      Happy Baking!

      1. Hey Garima ji,well these biscuits are so tasty the way they are:)but I wanted to ask if you have any cookie recipe including cornflakes,dry fruit powder,flax seeds,oats,honey I know it’s too much in one but I tried a recipe including all these the taste was very yummy as they were nutritious too😃But they weren’t crisp but very hard to eat,as your biscuits have come out perfect every time I baked them so can you help me out on this??i know I ask you a lot but that’s the only way😬😬I will be waiting!!

Leave a comment